Biography

Graduated in Education at the University of Abitibi-Témiscamingue and trained in Translation at University of Saint-Boniface, Chantale Roy is known for her meticulousness, professionalism and high-quality customer service. With more than 25 years of experience teaching, translation, transcription and linguistic revision, she always gives her students plenty of attention and takes great care with the texts submitted to her. Inspired by her love for words and language, she seeks for precision, quality and integrity of the message of the person who expresses himself orally or in writing.

Chantale has been working with the University of British Columbia for the past ten years, where she has taught oral French to international students in person and online French writing and reading. She is now dedicated to distance learning.

Teaching French as a Foreign Language (or second language) has been part of her duties for the past fifteen years. University of British Columbia students, Federal Public Servants and individuals are among those who have benefited from Chantale’s expertise to develop their skills and, above all, their personal confidence in speaking or writing French.

In addition, Chantale has translated many different documents for several UBC faculties and departments, including Medicine and Psychology. The University has assigned various contracts to her from external clients, such as the Nunavut Surface Rights Tribunal (Aboriginal law website), the Alcuin Society (The Graphic Design Excellence Award), food businesses like Everland, etc.

Simon Fraser University also entrusts her with the translation of documents (paper and digital) in Education. She recently translated one of the Department of Education professor’s book on outdoor teaching: A Walking Curriculum: Evoking Wonder And Developing A Sense of Place.

Chantale has also been doing linguistic revision since her first year at university in 1988. As a student, she was already involved as a linguistic consultant to students, while performing teaching assistance tasks for professors. Her thoroughness and conscientious work has made her a high-qualified linguistic professional. She subsequently continued to work at several educational institutions, including Educacentre College in Vancouver.

Finally, she has also developed a great expertise in the field of transcription of audio files in French for the UBC Department of Psychology, among others.

Services and rates

  • English to French Translation
  • French Linguistic Revision
  • French Transcription
  • Online French Tutoring (as a foreign or second language)

An estimate of the cost of translating documents or websites from English to French can be obtained by contacting Chantale directly. Here are our rates:

Contact

Chantale Roy can be reached for a quote or to learn more about her Linguistic Services by calling 604-790-8859 or  emailing her at info@chantaleroy.ca

Biographie

Diplômée de l’UQAT en éducation et formée en traduction à l’USB, Chantale Roy est reconnue pour sa minutie, son professionnalisme et son service à la clientèle de grande qualité. Avec plus de 25 ans d’expérience en enseignement, traduction, transcription et révision linguistique, elle accorde toujours une attention bienveillante à ses étudiants et un grand soin aux textes qui lui sont confiés. Inspirée par son amour des mots et de la langue, elle recherche précision, qualité et intégrité du message de celui ou celle qui s’exprime oralement ou par écrit.

Elle œuvre au sein de l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique depuis une dizaine d’années où elle y a enseigné le français oral à des étudiants internationaux, en présentiel et le français écrit en formation à distance. Elle se consacre maintenant à ce deuxième volet.

L’enseignement du français, langue étrangère (ou seconde) fait partie de ses fonctions depuis une quinzaine d’années. Les étudiants de l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique, les fonctionnaires fédéraux et les particuliers sont au nombre de ceux ayant bénéficié de l’expertise de Chantale pour développer leurs compétences et surtout, leur confiance personnelle pour s’exprimer en français.

Par ailleurs, Chantale a fait la traduction de nombreux documents divers pour plusieurs facultés et départements de UBC, dont ceux de médecine et psychologie. L’université lui a confié différents mandats sollicités par des clients de l’externe, comme le Tribunal des droits de surface du Nunavut (site Web en droit autochtone), la Société Alcuin (prix d’excellence en conception graphique), l’entreprise alimentaire Everland, etc.

L’Université Simon Fraser lui confie également la traduction de documents (papier et numérique) en éducation et enseignement. Elle a d’ailleurs récemment traduit pour une des professeures du département d’éducation un livre portant sur l’enseignement en plein air :Apprendre pas à pas.

Chantale fait également de la révision linguistique depuis sa première année d’université en 1988. Déjà en tant qu’étudiante, elle occupait un poste de consultante linguistique auprès des étudiants, tout en effectuant des tâches d’aide pédagogique pour les professeurs. Sa rigueur et son travail consciencieux ont fait d’elle une professionnelle chevronnée. Elle a par la suite continué d’exercer ce travail au sein de plusieurs établissements d’enseignement, dont le Collège Éducacentre à Vancouver.

Enfin, elle a développé aussi une grande expertise dans le domaine de la transcription de fichiers audios en français pour le département de psychologie de UBC, entre autres.

Services et tarifs

  • Traduction professionnelle
  • Révision linguistique
  • Transcription en français
  • Tutorat en français, langue étrangère

Une estimation du coût de traduction de documents ou d’un site Web de l’anglais au français peut être obtenue en communiquant directement avec Chantale. Voici d’ailleurs un aperçu des tarifs :

Contact

On peut joindre Chantale Roy pour une estimation de coût ou pour en savoir davantage au sujet de ses services linguistiques en lui téléphonant au 604-790-8859 ou communiquant avec elle par courriel à l’adresse électronique suivante : info@chantaleroy.ca